Data manager lets you manage mobile data usage and time online for your family and subscribers on your Bell Mobility monthly plan.
If you are the account holder, you can use the tool to block individual subscribers from using mobile data for a fixed period of time, or until you remove the block.
Using Data manager
Follow a step-by-step guide to setting, removing or modifying data blocks:
How can I access Data manager?
You can access Data manager by logging in to MyBell on the web or through the MyBell app.
Who can use Data manager?
If you’re the account holder of a Bell Mobility consumer or small business monthly plan, you use Data manager to set, remove or modify blocks for lines on your account that include data usage.
Use the tool to block data for smartphones, tablets, or other connected devices. It can’t be used for Prepaid, Talk and Text, Pay-per-use and some corporate accounts.
What can I do with Data manager?
Data manager lets you do the following for each person or device on your account:
- Block data for a period of time:
Choose to block data until you decide to turn it back on, the end of your billing cycle, the end of day, for the next 30 minutes, etc.
- Block data on a recurring schedule:
Have data turn on or off at the same time every day (e.g. bedtime, after work) or just on particular days (e.g. school nights, weekends).
Remember, when a block is set, only mobile data is blocked, so subscribers can still use Wi-Fi for voice, text or to access the Internet.
When are notifications sent to subscribers and account holders?
Subscribers are notified in real time by text when a block is set, modified or removed from their line. Subscribers can also see the settings for the block on the Usage page in MyBell, but cannot change or remove it.
Account holders are notified if a block request fails to apply or if there are any changes to Data manager functionality affecting active blocks on the account.
Will Data manager work while I'm travelling or roaming abroad?
Yes, Data manager blocks all data on the account, whether domestic or roaming.
What time zone applies to blocks? What if my subscriber is in a different time zone?
Blocks are based on the time zone of the account holder when setting the block. If you are in a non-Canadian time zone, the block will be set in Eastern Time.
What does “Block request pending” mean as the subscriber’s status?
While the data block or unblock request is processing, it may appear as pending. Refresh the webpage after a few seconds to see the updated status.
If you can’t set or remove a block:
- Check the Mobility Overview or Usage tab in MyBell to ensure your account is not blocked at $50 in data overage charges. Confirm the subscriber is not blocked at $500 in overage charges (the affected subscriber would have received a text alert).
- Toggle airplane mode on/off on your device or turn the device off and back on again.
- If that does not resolve the issue, turn the “block data” toggle in the tool on/off again.
- If the issue persists, please try again later or contact us.